CommitteesDowntown DirectoryCalendarSponsorsVolunteersDowntown Benefits/Opportunities

Main Street Waterbury Community Partnership Award & Stephen R. Sasala II Scholarship 

Click here to download a PDF of the scholarship materials

On October 6th, 2016, Main Street Waterbury hosted a celebration to honor Robert Burns, Executive Director of The Mattatuck Museum by presenting to him the Main Street Waterbury Community Partnership Award. Robert has quickly established himself as a passionate community advocate and dedicated leader since assuming his position at the Mattatuck in 2012. Under his guidance and mentorship, the museum has been thrust back into the forefront of the community spotlight and has reestablished its role as one of the region's leading arts and culture institutions and partnering organizations.In addition to his work at the museum, Robert serves on the City of Waterbury Mayor's Art Advisory Council and the regional Advisory council at Naugatuck Valley Community College. He also volunteers his time as a member of the Board of Directors for the Waterbury Development Corporation, Washington Art Association, and Main Street Waterbury. A true advocate for community involvement, Robert has worked in the non-profit sector for over 20 years and holds a Masters of Fine Arts from the University of South Carolina and a Bachelor of Fine Arts from West Virginia University. Alexa Eason of Crosby High School won the seventh annual Stephen R. Sasala II Scholarship. 

 On October 21, 2015, Main Street Waterbury hosted a celebration to honor Tina Agati, Executive Director of Literacy Volunteers of Greater Waterbury by presenting to her the Main Street Waterbury Community Partnership Award. Tina is an advocate for promoting literacy throughout the community. To accomplish this, Tina Agati has promoted volunteerism and personal commitment among individuals who, as literacy volunteers, then work to share the important and enjoyable skills of reading, writing, and language. Tina is passionate about providing free books to children from low-income families. She is accomplishing this by engaging the general public through partnerships built with the Waterbury Police Activity League, Board of Aldermen, and other organizations. As a result, her “Waterbury Reads” initiative has blossomed into a highly successful year-round program that provides the community’s poorest neighborhoods with access to free books throughout the year. Tina is also a member of the Leadership Greater Waterbury Class of 2006, serves on the Naugatuck Valley Community College Regional Advisory Council, and is a former 20 year volunteer with the Junior League of Greater Waterbury. Katherine R. Drewry of Woodland High School won the sixth annual Stephen R. Sasala II Scholarship.

On Thursday May 15, 2014 Frank Tavera, Chief Executive Officer Palace Theater, recieved the Stephen R. Sasala II Community Partnership Award at the Palace Theater. Frank has been an integral part of the rebirth and renaissance of the Waterbury's landmark theater along with the creation of the Arts and Culture Collaborative Greater Waterbury, where he currently serves as the Chair. He also serves on the Leadership Council of the Greater Waterbury United Way, serves on the Board of the Connecticut Arts Alliance, and served as President of Main Street initiative. Frank realizes that Waterbury's greatest asset is how arts and entertainment can encourage economic development and growth. Coralys Datiz of Kennedy High School won the the 5th annual Stephen R. Sasala II Scholarship.

On Wednesday May 15, 2013 Michael Gilmore received the Stephen R. Sasala II Community Partnership Award at the Palace Theater. Michael had worked with Steve Sasala on several community initiatives mostly involving anti-blight efforts for the city. Michael is responsible for the securing and/or demolition of unsafe structures, enforcement of the city’s Anti-Blight Ordinance, and relocation of displaced tenants. As the city’s Fair Housing Officer, Michael organizes and implements public programs and distributes informational material pertaining to fair housing laws and rights. He is a member of The City’s Tax Auction Committee and Property Reuse Committee along with several other community organizations. Mike realizes that Waterbury’s greatest asset is its residents, and he takes great pride in working with them in the downtown and surrounding neighborhoods. Jake "Pepper" Dominello of Nonnewaug High School won the 4th annual Stephen R. Sasala II Scholarship.

On May 31,2012 Joseph A. Geary, Chief of Staff, Office of the Mayor, City of Waterbury received the Stephen R. Sasala II Community Partnership Award. Joe had worked closely with Steve Sasala on several community initiatives including the Waterbury Development Corporation Board of Directors. Joe has been very active in the community for many years previously serving as a volunteer coach for East Mountain Athletic Association coaching soccer, basketball, and softball. In addition, he has volunteered his time with the Olympian Club, United Way of Greater Waterbury, East End Community Club, and Basilica of the Immaculate Conception. He has been an active supporter of Main Street Waterbury since its inception facilitating the organization's clean, safe, and friendly programs thus making a significant difference to the overall appearance of Downtown Waterbury. Joe's professional approach to leadership includes partnership building, community collaboration, and good public policy.     

On  June 23, 2011 Ingrid Manning, CEO, Connecticut Community Foundation received the Stephen R. Sasala II Community Partnership Award. Main Street Waterbury (MSW) initiated this award in 2010 to recognize the leadership and contributions of Steve Sasala, the former President and CEO of the Waterbury Regional Chamber.  His leadership style emphasized the value of building community partnerships.  With this award Main Street Waterbury sees the opportunity to honor Steve, acknowledge the value of productive community partnerships, and praise the contributions of specific leaders who have made a positive impact on Waterbury's growth as a strong and productive community.  (Award Recipients)

On June 23, 2011 Main Street Waterbury presented the first Stephen R. Sasala II Scholarship to Marisa McCann a senior at Wolcott High School.  The scholarship is available to a graduating high school senior whose intended college major is Political Science, Economics, Sociology, or Urban Studies.  Follow this link for further information and application forms.

In 2010, MSW has honored Dr. William J. Pizzuto, Director of the University of Connecticut at Waterbury as the recipient of this award.  Bill is a leader with foresight and acommitment to serve not only the University but the broader community as well. During his tenure, Bill has welcomed the opportunity to partner with a wide range of community leaders in catalytic ways to help move the City forward.  Examples of his active involvement include; serving as a member of the Board of Aldermen, sitting as a director of the NVDC, Waterbury Hospital, Waterbury Regional Chamber and the Palace Theater. All this and his unwavering support for Main Street Waterbury make Bill the appropriate candidate to receive the inaugural Steven R. Sasala II Community Partnership award.


 Like our Facebook Page.